the official nestor carbonell fansite

‘The Morning Show’ reveals 22 cast members eligible for SAG Award ensemble prize

‘The Morning Show’ reveals 22 cast members eligible for SAG Award ensemble prize

  |   Written by Marcus James Dixon

Article From Gold Derby

One of the hottest awards contenders of the year, Apple TV+’s “The Morning Show,” has just revealed to Gold Derby that a whopping 22 cast members will be eligible for the ensemble prize at the 2022 Screen Actors Guild Awards. Lead actresses Jennifer Aniston and Reese Witherspoon serve as bookends of the alphabetical list (see below), which also includes recent SAG Award nominees Steve Carell and Billy Crudup, plus new cast member (and guild queen) Julianna Margulies.

The last time “The Morning Show” contended at the 2020 SAG Awards, Aniston prevailed in the individual actress category, but the drama was shockingly snubbed in the ensemble race. That egregious oversight should be rectified this year, as the cast now comes in second place to win, according to Gold Derby predictions, behind only HBO’s “Succession.”

“TMS” Season 2 streamed on Apple between September and November and continued the story of Alex Levy (Aniston) and Bradley Jackson (Witherspoon) as hosts of a scandal-ridden A.M. news program. Real-life issues tackled on the show this year include the Covid-19 pandemic and the Presidential election between Joe Biden and Donald Trump.

Buzzy newbie Margulies popped up in six episodes as UBA anchor Laura Peterson, who had a special relationship with Bradley. Should Margulies receive SAG Award nominations for both individual and ensemble, that would bring her career total to 21 noms and tie her with Julia Louis-Dreyfus; only Edie Falco has more at 22. But remember, the SAG Awards don’t distinguish between leads and supportings on the TV side, so Margulies might have a tough time breaking into a five-person category if both Aniston and Witherspoon end up scoring individual nominations.

Here is the complete list of all 22 “The Morning Show” cast members eligible for the SAG Award ensemble prize:

Jennifer Aniston as Alex Levy
Shari Belafonte as Julia
Eli Bildner as Joel Rapkin
Nestor Carbonell as Yanko Flores
Steve Carell as Mitch Kessler
Billy Crudup as Billy Ellison
Mark Duplass as Charlie “Chip” Black
Amber Friendly as Layla Bell
Janina Gavankar as Alison Namazi
Valeria Golino as Paola Lambruschini
Tara Karisian as Gayle Berman
Hannah Leder as Isabella
Greta Lee as Stella Bak
Julianna Margulies as Laura Peterson
Joe Marinelli as Donny Spagnoli
Michelle Meredith as Lindsey Sherman
Ruairi O’Connor as Ty Fitzgerald
Joe Pacheco as Bart Daley
Karen Pittman as Mia Jordan
Victoria Tate as Rena Robinson
Desean K. Terry as Daniel Henderson
Reese Witherspoon as Bradley Jackson

Visit our photo gallery currently at 13,629 photos and growing!


Nestor Carbonell Central ( is the official Nestor Carbonell fansite. The fansite was created & is maintained by a fan for fans as a comprehensive archive of Nestor's career. All photos and media are copyright to their respective owners. No infringement is intended. Contact this site regarding any material you would like removed.